Home   Uncategorized   Must Have Books for 6-8 year kids

Must Have Books for 6-8 year kids

Take a look at our pick of the best books for 6-8 year olds from the last 100 years.

The enchanted woods

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Enchanted Wood

by Enid Blyton

When Joe, Beth and Frannie move into a new home, they discover a mysterious wood on their very doorstep.

Read about ‘The Enchanted Wood’

the famous five

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Five on a Treasure Island

by Enid Blyton

Meet Enid Blyton’s most famous characters – Julian, Dick, Anne, George and of course the ever-loyal Timmy the dog

Read about ‘Five on a Treasure Island’

A Bear Called Paddington

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Bear Called Paddington

by Michael Bond

HarperCollins Children’s Books

Paddington, the brown bear from darkest Peru, is found by the Brown family on Paddington Station with his hat, duffel coat and marmalade sandwiches.

Read about ‘A Bear Called Paddington’

The Milly Molly Mandy Storybook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook

by Joyce Lankester Brisley

Macmillan

Milly-Molly-Mandy lives with her mother, father, uncle, aunt, grandmother and grandfather in a ‘nice white cottage with a thatched roof’.

Read about ‘The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook’

Flat Stanley

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flat Stanley

by Jeff Brown

Stanley Lambchop wakes up one morning to find he is only half an inch thick

Read about ‘Flat Stanley’

Clarice Bean, That's Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clarice Bean, That’s Me

by Lauren Child

Clarice Bean gives us a snapshot of her life and family in the book that launched a bestselling series.

Read about ‘Clarice Bean, That’s Me’

That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown

by Cressida Cowell

Emily and her toy rabbit, Stanley, love to go on adventures together.

Read about ‘That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown’

The BFG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The BFG

by Roald Dahl

The BFG stands for Big Friendly Giant, who unexpectedly spirits a little girl named Sophie out of bed, and into the land of the child-eating giants.

Read about ‘The BFG’

The Story of Babar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Babar

by Jean De Brunhoff

 In the great forest, a litle elephant was born. His name was Babar…’

Read about ‘The Story of Babar’

My Naughty Little Sister

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Naughty Little Sister

by Dorothy Edwards

This affectionate portrait of family life is the story of a naughty three-year-old sister who is obstinate, inquisitive and full of mischief.

Read about ‘My Naughty Little Sister’

Asterix the Gaul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Asterix the Gaul

by René Goscinny

In a tiny corner of Brittany, one small village of indomitable Gauls hold out against the almighty, all-conquering Romans.

Read about ‘Asterix the Gaul’

Amazing Grace

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amazing Grace

by Mary Hoffman & Caroline Binch

This classic story clearly communicates an inspiring message that anything is possible

Read about ‘Amazing Grace’

Finn Family Moomintroll

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finn Family Moomintroll

by Tove Jansson

Moomintroll is cheerful and chubby and lives in the magical Moominvalley with his mother, Moominmamma, his father, Moominpappa and all of their friends.

Read about ‘Finn Family Moomintroll’

The Queen's Nose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Queen’s Nose

by Dick King-Smith

Harmony’s Uncle Ginger sends her on a treasure trail – which ends in finding a 50p piece.

Read about ‘The Queen’s Nose’

The Sheep-Pig

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Sheep-Pig

by Dick King-Smith

When Farmer Hogget wins a piglet at the fair, he is amazed that Fly, his sheep-dog, welcomes him as one of her own pups.

Read about ‘The Sheep-Pig’

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

by Jeff Kinney

Greg Heffley is a normal American kid, albeit one with a habit of getting into (and out of) trouble.

Read about ‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid’

Pippi Longstocking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pippi Longstocking

by Astrid Lindgren

Follow Pippi Longstocking on her amazing adventures as she moves into Villa Villekulla with a horse, a monkey, and a big suitcase of gold coins.

Read about ‘Pippi Longstocking’

Winnie-the-Pooh

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winnie-the-Pooh

by A A Milne

No child’s library could be complete without A A Milne’s stories about Pooh, Christopher Robin and their friends in the Hundred Acre Wood.

Read about ‘Winnie-the-Pooh’

The Worst Witch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Worst Witch

by Jill Murphy

Long before Harry Potter first went to Hogwarts, trainee witch Mildred Hubble embarked on life at Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches…

Read about ‘The Worst Witch’

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

by Jon Scieszka & Lane Smith

What really happened to the three little pigs and the big bad wolf? Find out the truth in this hilarious picture book.

Read about ‘The True Story of the Three Little Pigs’

Horrid Henry

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Horrid Henry

by Francesca Simon & Tony Ross

Stories about naughty characters have been told for centuries, and Horrid Henry is a modern-day rogue in the tradition of Dennis the Menace and Just William.

Read about ‘Horrid Henry’

The Arrival

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Arrival

by Shaun Tan

In this unusual book, we follow a young man as he packs his bags and leaves his family to go and start a new life in another country

Read about ‘The Arrival’

Charlotte's Web

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Charlotte’s Web

by E B White

This is the tale of how a little girl named Fern – with the help of a friendly talking spider called Charlotte – saved her pig, Wilbur, from the usual fate of nice fat little pigs.

Read about ‘Charlotte’s Web’

Little House in the Big Woods

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little House in the Big Woods

by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Inside the little house live the Ingalls family: Ma, Pa, Mary, Laura and baby Carrie.

Read about ‘Little House in the Big Woods’

Mister Magnolia

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mister Magnolia

by Quentin Blake

Mr Magnolia has many things – but only one boot.

Read about ‘Mister Magnolia

 

loading